Workplace Stress

This is a topic near and dear to my heart right now. Times are not easy for me right now but I am working to find that safe balance. It’s all about playing the workplace game…be a cheerleader for the company you work for. I have let my workplace bring me down to a level that I would hate to see anyone else be brought down to. I cannot place the full blame on my work environment….I take responsibility for part of it also. I need to find a good balance in my life and this is where the problem comes in.

When you work for a company they tell you that when you are there it is to work. Leave your personal life at the door. This is true. I do this. I do not take my personal life to work with me…I have mastered this very well. My problem is that I do not know how to leave work….at work.

I try to release tension by running on the treadmill, listening to music. I danced the other night to music that I turned up super loud. I am trying to do what I can to take my mind away from work when I am now there. My company offers some great options to help reduce stress. We have a on-site gym (I do not use this gym…I don’t want to be there any longer than I have to be) we have decent health benefits and they even started to having seating outside to eat lunch/dinner or just take a break from the four walls we are placed in all day. I have started a new schedule at work where I only work 2 days and then I’m off for two days back on for two and then off for one day….and they cycle will stay like that for a few months until they change it again.

I am not an expert in the area of how to control workplace stress (very far from it). I don’t think anyone is but all ideas are welcome. It’s an important topic.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

